Ed M

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

Hi there, My name is Ed, I have a PhD in physical sciences (University of Bristol). I specialise in Maths and Physics. I tutor from the ages of 10 up to and including first year undergraduate level. I also offer Art classes as an aside. As a dyslexic, I'm proof that if there's a will, there is a way. All you need is self-belief, a strong work ethic and determination. I provide a free 30 minute consultation to ensure that I understand where you'd most like help and to help tailor my tutorials to meet your exact needs. Don't hesitate to get in touch with any questions.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I enjoy turning difficult concepts into understandable ideas, breaking complex problems into simple steps and pointing out common pitfalls for students to avoid. My aim is to provide my students with the confidence they need to approach unseen problems in their stride. I encourage my students to produce a few topics or problems that they are struggling with to ensure that my sessions cover their needs. I am also very comfortable extending ideas beyond the curriculum when it is beneficial for the student, if there is genuine interest.

What qualifications do you have?

PhD in Physical Sciences (pass with no enforced corrections, University of Bristol), MSc in Material Sciences (distinction, University of Warwick) MPhys BSc (second class, upper division, University of Warwick), A Levels: A grades in Chemistry, Physics, Maths AS Level: A grade in Art GCSE: 8 A* grades, 2 A grades - achieved 100% in the triple science examinations and was placed within the top 10 candidates for Art & Design GCSE. My transcripts are available to see in the documentation below.

Tell us about your experience...

I have tutored Physics (age ranges 10 - 21), Mathematics (age ranges 10 - 21) and art (freelance classes, age ranges 18-24). In addition, I supervised 5 final year undergraduate students completing their MSci research projects. Each student achieved the highest grade available for their respective projects.

What locations do you tutor in?

Tonbridge and online.

What is your personal message to students?

Hi there, I'm personable and educational. I want to make sure that you feel like you confident in your understanding of any topic and in your ability to tackle any question. I will intellectually challenge you, but you'll be glad I did.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Tonbridge
Online tutor: Microsoft teams or Skype
Subjects: Physics A level
  Maths A level
  Art & Design Interests' sake