Deborah T

back to the directory
£ 32.00-36.00 p/h

I am a fully qualified ex-headteacher with over 30 years experience in teaching all aspects of mathematics to primary, secondary and college students up to GCSE level 9-1. I also teach reading, writing, spelling, punctuation, grammar and general English and maths for SATs and help student prepare in all aspects of 11 plus and common entrance exams. I believe all children and adults can love maths when given the right tuition and I provide stimulating, enjoyable and targeted lessons that will help student catch up, keep up and move up. I offer a FREE online maths assessment.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Each student will have their own bespoke learning programme that aims to get them to the best they can be at a pace they can manage. I am patient, understanding and supportive. I make the learning enjoyable and focused on each students individual needs. Their programme is regularly reviewed to build on previous learning and produce successful outcomes. I keep in regular contact with parents and set homework that consolidates learning. I offer a FREE maths assessment to all new students.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Bachelor of Education Degree and advanced maths certificate. I am DBS checked and have tutor insurance.

Tell us about your experience...

I was in state education as a class teacher for 17 years rising to the position of Head Teacher. I then ran my own tuition business in Salisbury for 14 years which lead me to tutor maths, English and 11+ lessons. I now tutor 1-1 online maths lessons up to GCSE level. I have tutored students from around the world and achieved great results. Please read my testimonials and visit my website for more information.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor within a 5 mile radius of Shaftesbury for face to face maths lessons and Worldwide for online 1-1 maths lessons.

What is your personal message to students?

Maths is not an easy subject BUT I can help you find a love of maths and feel more confident when tackling maths problems. With weekly 1-1 sessions you can achieve your goals. I look forward to working with you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: I have a valid enhanced DBS check
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: approximately a 5 mile radius of Shaftesbury
Online tutor: I tutor using onscreen audio/visual screen sharing software for PC & Mac
Subjects: Maths GCSE
  Maths SATs
  Maths 11+
  English SATs
  English 11+
  11 Plus age 9-11