Daniel W

back to the directory
£ 20.00-40.00 p/h

I read French and Spanish at the University of Cambridge (St John's College) and graduated in 2018. I did French A level and got an A*. I lived in Paris for about nine months for my year abroad and studied at the prestigious École Normale Supérieure. I started Spanish the year before I went to Cambridge and did it ab initio at Cambridge. In addition to having studied Spanish as part of my degree, I also hold the C1 qualification based on a course I completed at the Cambridge Language Centre. I have tutored French and Spanish for a year a half for different organisations and have an excellent track record. I have helped one GCSE Spanish student improve from a 4 to a 9 in less than a year. I have helped prepare a successful candidate for a Modern Languages interview at Christ Church, Oxford. I am currently preparing a student for a French entrance exam at Winchester College and I am teaching a Cambridge graduate who has dealings with Africa as part of his work. I teach in quite a rigorous way, helping students to improve their grades. I am patient, kind and supportive.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is rigorous but supportive. I adapt my teaching style to the needs of the individual. I like to focus on grammar because it is so important for every area of language acquisition and it is sadly often neglected in schools. Above all, I am here to help the student. Therefore, I will always look to ask students what they hope to gain from my sessions. This will help me to identify areas to target and also encourage my students to be self-reflective. Constant evaluation is an important part of the learning process. I will be very happy to mark work, work on pronunciation with students and suggest resources that students can use to develop their language skills outside of the lessons. This is critical because language-learning does require personal diligence and can be a time-consuming yet very enjoyable process. I will look to remind students of things we have covered in previous sessions so that we can both follow their progression and so that they can retain what they have learnt.

What qualifications do you have?

10 A*s at GCSE (French - A*) A* French A level, A* Biology A level, A Maths A level Extended Project Qualification Level 3 A* C1 Spanish MML Degree (French and Spanish) Cambridge

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring languages for about a year and a half. I have consistently received 5 star reviews on other sites. I have tutored many GCSE students, including helping one GCSE Spanish student to improve from a grade 4 to a grade 9 in less than a year. I have taught the Cambridge iGCSE in French and Spanish. I have also helped to prepare a student for the French entrance exam at Winchester College. I have helped to prepare a succesful student for the Modern Languages interview at Christ Church, Oxford. I am currently teaching a Cambridge graduate French because he works as an architect and has dealings with Africa.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am prepared to go to people's houses in the Oadby area. Otherwise, I tutor online.

What is your personal message to students?

I really hope you will give my lessons a go. I tailor my lessons to your individual needs and try to make lessons both challenging and rewarding. I believe in a thorough and rigorous teaching process, which is partly based on the high quality education I have received at Cambridge and at the École Normale Supérieure in Paris, where I studied for nine months on my year abroad. I am also a patient and kind person, who understands the need to make his pupils feel at ease. I seek to create a warm and supportive environment, which allows my students to flourish.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Oadby Area
Online tutor: I would like to tutor via skype or zoom.
Subjects: French GCSE, A level
  Spanish GCSE, A level