Clare E

back to the directory
£ 27.00-40.00 p/h

During this time I have moved all my tutoring online and my tutees have continued to thrive. I am open to face-to-face tutoring when deemed appropriate. For many years I have helped students in Maths, Chemistry and Combined Science achieve their goals. As well as tutoring, I am an experienced school teacher and have worked in both secondary and primary schools. I have also taught Music and Music Tech. I have successfully taught maths to adults to GCSE level.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Initially, I assess by speaking with both the parents and the child to understand where the sticking points are. I rapidly find an approach that works for the student, making use of past papers, revision websites and guides as well as responding to what the tutee feels is necessary. If I am steering a pupil towards a national exam then I will make a plan for a series of lessons leading up to the exam, to ensure success. I am also happy to teach and experienced with teaching child online who are in some ways disconnected from their learning. This is because my style is holistic, respectful and boundaried.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a PGCE Secondary 11-18. I have taught maths, science and music at GCSE level. I have taught maths and science at KS2 level as well. I have a first degree in Natural Sciences from Cambridge; BA Hons (Cantab). I also hold a masters from Cambridge. I have other qualifications including a D32/33 in vocational horticulture and a City and Guild 7307 Pt 1 in further education teaching.

Tell us about your experience...

I have a great deal of experience in online and off line tutoring, as well as a great deal of teaching experience. I tutored from 1997-2000 in Bristol, in maths and science at both GCSE and A level. I next tutored whilst a teacher in secondary. This was 2008-2014. I very much enjoy taking children on a journey where they can have success and feel better about their attitude to the subjects I am teaching, and themselves!

What locations do you tutor in?

I teach all over the country online. And am open to teaching internationally, in English. I teach face-to-face in Brighton and Hove and I can teach from home.

What is your personal message to students?

You can do it! Let's have a session where you can have all your questions answered and build from there.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Brighton and Hove
Online tutor: I tutor via skype, facetime and zoom.
Subjects: Chemistry A level and GCSE
  Maths GCSE, KS3, upper KS2
  Physics GCSE
  Science GCSE, KS3 and upper KS2
  Music theory to GCSE