Christopher M

back to the directory
£ 20.00-40.00 p/h

Hi, I am currently finishing a second MA degree in intellectual and art history (Warburg Institute); I studied Classics (Greek and Latin) as an undergraduate and received a first MA in Egyptology (Oxford). While finishing off my masters, I am working as an English tutor teaching year 9 and 10. I am passionate about history, languages, philosophy and literature, and I would be very interested in teaching these and related subjects to prospective students. I am happy to give a free 30-minute lesson so you can see if I am the right tutor for you. During the free lesson, I can also assess key areas that we can work on going forward. Materials and homework are included in each class that I teach, which are tailored to each student. Due to the current situation regarding COVID-19, I am more than happy to teach online via skype etc. This will be at a slightly lower rate. Please do not hesitate to ask me any further questions. Kind regards, Chris.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I teach in a highly interactive way whereby 50% or more of the class will revolve around the student participating in discussion and exercises as I believe it is key for students to realise their academic voice and state their opinion, not merely repeat standardised answers. This said, I do keep within the prescribed parameters of the current curricula so as to ensure students gain the best grades possible. Each class is tailored to the student's needs, with progress tests every 4-6 weeks so I can review their progress and make any necessary changes. In addition to the review tests, I will set homework each lesson which I will collect, mark then return to the student.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a BA in Classics (First Class), a MA in Egyptology, a MA in Intellectual and Art History. I also have a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate and a Diploma in Humanities (Open University).

Tell us about your experience...

I am currently an English teacher, tutoring year 9 and 10. I have previous experience teaching Latin at a secondary school level. Whilst at Oxford, I also tutored undergraduates in preparation for their Classical Greek and Latin Exams.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am happy to tutor anywhere in Greater London. I am also happy to teach Via Skype etc.

What is your personal message to students?

Hi everyone,

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Greater London
Online tutor: I tutor via skype, microsoft teams and BigBlueButton.
Subjects: Classical Greek Up to BA (Undergraduate)
  Art History Up to BA (Undergraduate)
  History Up to BA (Undergraduate)
  English Up to BA (Undergraduate)
  Philosophy Up to BA (Undergraduate)
  Latin Up to BA (Undergraduate)