Chloe S

back to the directory
£ 40.00-50.00 p/h

I am an English teacher with Qualified Teaching and Learning status, who has been teaching for 6 years. I have a Master's degree in Modern and Contemporary Literature and I am very passionate about motivating and inspiring young people through literature. I have been teaching young offenders in a custodial setting for the past 3 years, and prior to this I was an Associate Tutor for a University, teaching postgraduates on an employability module, designed to support them into meaningful work. I own a certified Therapy Dog, who has been working alongside me with young people, helping to lower anxiety and improve engagement with challenging work.

How would you describe your teaching style?

As I currently work with young offenders, I am used to working with young people who are hard to reach, difficult to engage or lack confidence in their English ability. My approach is to try to inspire the young people I work with, through interesting, fun,engaging and socially relevant resources that are linked to the assessment criteria. I find that learners can be motivated by having their feedback taken on board and by seeing how the work can support them develop their skills ahead of exams.

What qualifications do you have?

2017-2019 Diploma in Education and Training - University of Warwick - Distinction 2011-2012 MA in Modern and Contemporary Literature, Culture and Thought 2008-2011 BA (Hons) English Literature 2:1 A in English Literature at A Level A in Drama and Theatre Studies at A Level A Photography A Level

Tell us about your experience...

For the past three years, I've been teaching English GCSE, A level and Functional Skills to young offenders aged 12-18 in a custodial setting in Kent. I have helped us to achieve two Ofsted 'Good' ratings, and English was commended as having elements of 'Outstanding' practice. Prior to this, I was working with postgraduates on an employability module at a BPP University. I was supporting individuals into work and coaching them through this. Before this, I worked for INTO City and UEA as a UCAS Advisor, helping our cohort through their application, supporting them in writing their Personal Statements and decide between different University courses.

What locations do you tutor in?

I am located in Blackheath, Greenwich. I would be happy to travel to neighbouring areas, including Lewisham, Woolwich, Deptford, Brockley and anywhere that would be within a 20 minute drive of SE3.

What is your personal message to students?

I will help you in whatever area of English you are finding difficult, or to work towards achieving your target grade. I've supported my class of young offenders to achieve above national benchmarks for success.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Lewisham, Kidbrooke, Deptford, Brockley, Lee, Hither Green, Woolwich, Charlton
Online tutor: I tutor via skype or zoom
Subjects: English GCSE
  English A Level
  11 Plus
  English as a foreign language
  English as a foreign language