Charlie M

back to the directory
£ 15.00-30.00 p/h

I have experience in teaching English as a foreign language in both Japan and Russia, teaching both adults and children in a variety of individual and group environments. I have a Level 3 Teaching English as a Foreign Language qualification, obtained in September 2019. Additionally, I studied History at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels at university, studying a variety of periods and topics. I also work with students on essay writing and written skills, helping to prepare them for upcoming exams.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My style is patient and encouraging - I believe that a student is more likely to learn effectively when they are more confident, and they will become more confident when given the opportunity to feel relaxed and not worry about mistakes. I also take time to learn what a student is interested in so that sessions can be tailored to their likes, which will give them more motivation and enthusiasm for learning.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a Level 3 Teaching English as a Foreign Language qualification, obtained in September 2019 and certified by Intesol Worldwide.

Tell us about your experience...

I worked for sixteen months at a bilingual English-Japanese kindergarten in Kawasaki, Japan. Here I taught basic reading, speaking, writing, and phonetic skills, as well as teaching students the required techniques and material for age-appropriate English proficiency tests. Additionally, I taught for 8 months at an English school in Moscow, Russia - teaching both adults and children in group and individual classes. These sessions ranged from basic daily English to more specific business or company focused requirements, and each session was tailored to that particular student.

What locations do you tutor in?

I teach in Bath, but I am available for nationwide teaching via online platforms.

What is your personal message to students?

I believe that confidence is the key to thriving when learning how to speak English, so I will work with you to provide interesting, fun, and enjoyable classes that motivate and encourage you to use English much more frequently. I hope that I can work with you soon!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Enhanced DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Anywhere in the Bath area
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype or Zoom
Subjects: English as a foreign language Any level
  History GCSE & A Level