Catherine K

back to the directory
£ 40.00-60.00 p/h

My name is Catherine, I am a 24 year old PhD student studying Psychology. I have a 2:1 undergraduate degree in English Literature from the University of Manchester and a Distinction in MSc Psychology. I am able to teach either English Literature or Psychology and have experience with both. I also have experience tutoring 11+.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I really like to work with the strengths and weaknesses of the student - I think it’s really important to understand early on what these are and how much they can be used to enhance teaching.

What qualifications do you have?

I have an MSc, BA(Hons), PFCert and currently working towards my PhD.

Tell us about your experience...

I have a 6 months experience teaching 11+ for state to private school transition for a student with dyslexia, working together to successfully get him into his top school. I also have 1 year experience tutoring A Level English literature, particularly Othello, Macbeth, King Lear, poetry analysis and modern literature. I have tutored Psychology A Level while studying for my Psychology MSc.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor in Maida Vale, Hampstead, Kensington and Chelsea, Marylebone, Kilburn, Kensal Rise and surrounding areas. I also do online tutoring.

What is your personal message to students?

Seeking tutoring is a really positive step of self-development towards reaching your full academic potential, and one that I am always grateful to be a part of. I absolutely love working with students who have found academia to be challenging in the past and working with them to ignite a new interest in and passion for the subject I am teaching. I have a proven track record in bringing grades up and breaking down challenging topics into easy-to-understand lessons. I put a lot of effort into my lessons and truly want to make a difference in the life of my student so, if this appeals to you, please do get in touch. I look forward to hearing from you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: W9
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype/Zoom
Subjects: Psychology MSc
  English Undergraduate Degree