Cassandra B

back to the directory
£ 15.00-25.00 p/h

I studied Spanish and TESOL. I taught in Spain for a year, working in two bilingual schools (a primary and a secondary school) as an English Language Assistant for the British Council.Currently I am an online teacher who teaches English as a second language to pupils of all ages. I am happy to tutor Spanish at school level (GCSE) or casual. I can tutor English as a second language to all ages (the youngest I have ever taught is 4!) I also tutor school English; ie. comprehension, writing, reading and phonics.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I tutor to various needs and styles. I have experience working with all ages and have experience designing personalised lesson plans as well as working from various textbooks. I develop activities and worksheets to cater to every need.

What qualifications do you have?

I am a graduate from the University of Sunderland. I studied Spanish and TESOL. Furthermore, I have a TEFL teaching qualification of 140 hours of general English and Business English.

Tell us about your experience...

I undertook a year abroad in Spain, working in two bilingual schools (a primary and a secondary school) as an English Language Assistant for the British Council. I have experience tutoring English to students from the University of Sunderland, who mostly required work on their written and spoken language. I worked as a student ambassador for the university which helped me gain more experience working with children from Primary and GCSE level, encouraging them to think about higher education through tours and varying, fun activities both on and off campus. Currently, I am an online ESL teacher with students from all over the world. I develop lesson plans for students of all ages, using a range of textbooks and self made resources.

What locations do you tutor in?

I will tutor in students homes however, given the current situation, I will only be teaching online.

What is your personal message to students?

Online tutoring is a great and convenient way to consolidate your learning, pick up a new skill or develop on existing ones. Don't be shy! Give it a go and see if it's for you.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom
Subjects: English as a foreign language All
  English GCSE
  Spanish GCSE/A level