Caroline T

back to the directory
£ 18.00-25.00 p/h

I am an enthusiastic and dedicated tutor and I have been a teacher of languages for 12 years but started private tutoring 8 years ago. I now tutor full time and also work for three well-known distance learning schools. I can offer a variety of languages to teach at most levels including adult learners and exam tuition. As a tutor all lessons are tailored to the individual needs of the learner. We look at all aspects of the target language. I am very proud of all my students and I am very pleased with the progress they have made over the years.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I always ensure that lessons are tailored to the needs of each student. Everyone has a different way of learning. We look at all areas of the language and I can prepare my students for exams and also for holidays! I use a variety of teaching resources including websites, apps and also useful books. For exam students we also use games to help develop the language learning and I also produce vocabulary quizzes for all students. I have a calm approach to teaching which brings out confidence on learners which is very rewarding to see.

What qualifications do you have?

I have a PGCE in Modern Languages from the University of York (2004), QTS (2005) and BA Hons Modern Language from the University of Hull (2002)

Tell us about your experience...

I completed my PGCE at the University of York in 2004 and my teaching placements took place in Scarborough and Richmond in North Yorkshire. I then taught for 8 years at a school near Wakefield which was 'A Specialist Language College' where I created Italian courses for the school and was head of Vocational Languages. I now tutor full time after having children and I work for three distance learning schools, teaching students all over the world. I also tutor privately and even teach students in India. I have been very lucky to have had so many opportunities.

What locations do you tutor in?

I tutor online but also at my home in Wakefield where I have resources available and learning facilities.

What is your personal message to students?

Languages are fun to learn and the sky is the limit with a new language. I am always available as your tutor to answer any questions however small. Start your language learning journey now.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: DBS
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: Skype, Zoom, Google Meets, Teams (and any others not mentioned!)
Subjects: French Primary, KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, IB A-level, Adult, Pre-school, Business
  German GCSE, IGCSE, IB, Pre-school, Adult, Business, KS3, Primary
  Italian KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, IB, Adult, Primary, Pre-school
  Spanish KS3, GCSE, IGCSE, IB, Adult, Primary, Pre-school
  Japanese All levels