Carlos F

back to the directory
£ 15.00-60.00 p/h

Hello! My name's Carlos and I'm an Art History and Architectural History graduate from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. I specialise in rigorous architectural and urban history and theory, and I would be delighted to impart my knowledge to any GCSE, A-Level, or Undergraduate students requiring assistance. When it comes to teaching English as a foreign language, I take an innovative approach that deploys art history as a platform for learning. During my time grasping foreign languages, I found that art was an excellent medium for understanding new vocabulary, alongside improving my presentation skills and comprehending how to talk about very complex, visual, and societal topics. My tutoring style is engaging, enthusiastic, but above all, meticulous. If you would like my assistance, let me know!

How would you describe your teaching style?

My tutoring style is engaging, enthusiastic, but above all, meticulous. When teaching English as a foreign language, I use artwork as a medium for engaging with English, allowing students to really improve their presentation skills while covering all aspects of language acquisition. I have found this is a very successful way of teaching English, and students have always taken great interest in classes. If I am teaching art or architectural history, I select examples from a range of historical periods, but I do not teach them in isolation. Instead, I assist students to compare these examples and understand that art and architecture do not exist in a vacuum. Rather, connections and commonalities can be drawn throughout historical and cultural epochs, and this always makes for engaging and original exam answers. When it comes to urban theory, I discuss rigorous, often quite intense theory. However, I always deliver this in a palatable, comprehensible way, and I often ask students to apply this to map annotation or (if possible) technical drawing.

What qualifications do you have?

I have just completed MA (Joint Honours) History of Art and Architectural History from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland. I am currently finalising a 120-Hour TEFL qualification from 2019/2020 Erasmus Exchange at the Università di Roma Tre, Rome (Italy), with a grade average of 96% I have C1 (Proficient) Italian level by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages OLS Assessment My A-Level results are 3A* and my AS-Levels are 4A

Tell us about your experience...

Where do I start?! I have extensive experience working in the cultural heritage sector, including various auction houses, museums, galleries, historic houses, architectural conservation organisations, and architecture practices. During Covid-19, I helped establish a solid international online community at the University of Edinburgh, organising and hosting various online social events that have helped nurture a sense of camaraderie and friendship even during lockdown restrictions. I taught the English Language to students online using art history, which has shown to be highly successful and engaging.

What locations do you tutor in?

In person, I can tutor in Edinburgh (Scotland), Dorchester (Dorset, England), sometimes Madrid (Spain). I welcome online students from anywhere.

What is your personal message to students?

If you're looking to improve your art practice, art historical, architectural, or urban knowledge, or your grasp of the English Language, look no further!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Anywhere in central Edinburgh
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Skype
Subjects: Art History Undergraduate and below
  Art & Design A-Level and below
  English as a foreign language Any Level
  Architectural History Undergraduate and below