Bethany M

back to the directory
£ 10.00-20.00 p/h

To whom it may concern. I am a TEFL qualified English teacher who has taught at many levels in Thailand over the past couple of years. I have a BSc in Sociology and Applied Social Sciences. I am proficient in French and have been studying the language since I was a child. I heavily enjoy the world of Maths, the Sciences, and History as well. I loved teaching and have a passion for the subjects I am educated in, and would like to assist others in embarking upon such knowledge also. I am sure you will find me a more than suitable and interesting tutor for yourself, your family and friends. Warm regards, Bethany McNaughton Brown.

How would you describe your teaching style?

proactive and understanding. I like to let the learner take the lead in what they need to know and help them overcome ad hoc problems. I like games and sheets fr younger people and I find reading and speaking are the most helpful to adults. confidence in yourself is key!

What qualifications do you have?

A BSc in Sociology and a full TEFL qualification with experience in varied schools in Thailand.

Tell us about your experience...

upon leaving university I did the classic thing that any young person would do and I signed up to various travel websites. I found myself studying an online course in Teaching English as a Foreign language. I began to understand how language develops in people as they grow, which types of people learn in which ways, and what various types of grammar are used in the English speaking world. I went to volunteer as a teacher initially as part of my course. I adored being out there with inspired and happy young people succeeding at speaking my language- and enjoying it too! So a year later I went again under paid employment. I lived there for a year and I don't regret a single second. My favourite age group to teach were small children aged 4+, however teenagers, as challenging as they can be, are very interesting and fun people to learn alongside. I feel they taught me more than I could ever teach them in return. On weekends I worked as a tutor in a private language school in the north of Bangkok with mixed ages for those in need of language support.

What locations do you tutor in?

I prefer to tutor from home, all are welcome!

What is your personal message to students?

Believe in yourself. The answer doesn't always have to be right, it's essential to get things wrong. learning is a journey that should be enjoyed and stopping every time you don't 'succeed' is never the answer. The brain is a very unreliable organ in the body- don't be so hard on yourself!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: I have a recent DBS certificate
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I can tutor via Skype as well as in person
Subjects: English as a foreign language all levels
  French Intermediate
  Sociology up to degree level
  Science KS3 level
  Maths KS3 level