Athethan S

back to the directory
£ 20.00-30.00 p/h

I am a motivated and enthusiastic Graduate in Automotive Engineering Degree (BEng) at the University of Surrey. I am undertaking a Postgraduate degree in Advanced Mechanical Engineering at City, University of London (MSc). I specialise in Maths and Physics and further proficiency was attained through modules studied in my course. Being a student myself, I can understand the mindset of a student, and I will try to incorporate simple effective methods to develop and exceed the tutee’s desired targets.

How would you describe your teaching style?

In my years of being taught by various tutors during my education, I found that parents played a vital part in the support of any child, and hence I involve the parent as much as possible to ensure the best possible results. Each student will have a custom plan, in which progress will be closely monitored. I urge to give feedback to parents given after every lesson, alongside what will be taught in the next lesson. Each student is treated with respect and I use different methods of teaching to accommodate the needs of different pupils. In the first session, I usually prepare a small assessment to identify the student`s areas of improvement and then address those in the following sessions, alongside the syllabus that the student is undertaking. Tailor-made exercises and tests will be provided for homework and for exam practice. Approaching exam periods, I will go through all past exam papers, as well as provide my own papers to practice and we will go through any question that is not fully understood. My aim is always to raise the achievements of my tutees beyond their own expectations.

What qualifications do you have?

Automotive Engineering BEng - 2:1 (University of Surrey) Mechanical Engineering MSc - Ongoing (City, University of London)

Tell us about your experience...

Taught students via referral for the past 2 years, and parents have been impressed by their child’s progress, and they have achieved their targeted grades in exams. Please ask for testimonials :) I am currently working privately at a tutoring organisation as a teaching assistant (A-Z Educational Services - The 11+ Specialist). I mainly help groups of pupils that struggle with harder questions and teach them methods that will reduce the time spent on the question, while getting full marks.

What locations do you tutor in?

Wallington, Croydon, Purley, Epsom, New Malden, Surbiton, Kingston, Addington, Bromley

What is your personal message to students?

If you feel like you need a tutor that will boost your confidence in Maths and Physics, that is very knowledgeable in the subjects, as well as teaching you a few tricks to make your learning process easier, I can definitely step in and help. My goal is to support you in your learning as well as ensuring that you can apply what you have learnt in questions when it comes up within questions

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: CRB
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Wallington, Croydon, Purley, Epsom, New Malden, Surbiton, Kingston, Addington, Bromley
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom
Subjects: Maths Primary to A-Level
  Physics Primary to A-Level