Andrea F

back to the directory
£ 45.00-50.00 p/h

I have taught Maths throughout my career, both in schools and colleges and privately. At present I teach via Zoom using a webcam, which works very well, closely simulating the experience of face to face tuition. I specialise in all areas of Maths, including Further Maths and Oxbridge preparation. I have had much experience and success in helping people achieve their aims in their Maths studies. I am sympathetic and non judgemental in my approach, and I love helping students overcome any difficulties and gain confidence and enjoyment of the subject.

How would you describe your teaching style?

My teaching style is tailored to the student's individual needs. Generally, I aim to sympathetically find out where the student most needs help, and work with them to enable them to overcome difficulties and move forward, always at the student's pace. Our sessions are a dialogue, with the student's needs always directing what we do. The student and I work together as a team.

What qualifications do you have?

An honours degree ( level 2(i) ) from Somerville College, Oxford -

Tell us about your experience...

I have taught Mathematics in Sixth Form Colleges, Further Education Colleges, and schools both in the UK and abroad, throughout my working life, specialising in Advanced Level Maths and Further Maths, as well as preparing students for Oxford and Cambridge entry. I tutored privately for much of that time. I retired from full time teaching six years ago, and now focus on private tuition, as well as occasionally teaching classes at a local independent school.

What locations do you tutor in?

Currently online via Zoom. In normal circumstances, within a 12-15 mile radius of central Guildford, either at my house in Guildford or the student's home.

What is your personal message to students?

Whatever your ability or previous educational experience with Maths, I can work in a sympathetic and non-judgemental way to give you the help and support you need to overcome any difficulties. If you are prepared to try your best, we will work well together as a team, and you will find yourself increasing in understanding and confidence. We usually have a lot of fun doing it, too!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: I have a current DBS certificate
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: I am happy to travel within 12 miles of Guildford
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom
Subjects: Maths A level and GCSE
  Further Maths A level