Amy M

back to the directory
£ 25.00-30.00 p/h

English is a subject which I am very passionate about and I am keen to pass on this passion to others. I have a degree in English Literature from the University of Glasgow and I am currently at the University of the West of Scotland working towards a PGDE in Secondary English. I am a very enthusiastic and determined person who always wants to get the best from myself and from others. I aim to create a friendly and trusting environment in which the student can develop confidence within the subject and feel comfortable when completing tasks. I am very patient and will always provide the time needed for a student to understand the particular question or technique. I want to be able to help with any queries or difficulties that the student has in order that they can develop their enthusiasm for the subject or indeed find it. I now have over a year's experience and have found that my students have achieved excellent results at both Higher and National 5 level. I am happy to offer tutoring virtually or face to face in adherence with current social distancing guidelines.

How would you describe your teaching style?

I teach in an inclusive style and aim to differentiate based on each student's learning needs. I take a personalised approach and encourage the use of visual aids. I am patient and will keep revising things until the student feels comfortable with the content.

What qualifications do you have?

English Literature MA from the University of Glasgow 2:1 PGDE Secondary English from the University of the West of Scotland- in completion

Tell us about your experience...

I have been tutoring for the past three years throughout my undergraduate degree. I have found it incredibly fulfilling and enjoyed working with a whole range of students. I mostly work with those in S4-S6 completing their National 5 and Higher Qualifications. The students I have worked with have all achieved excellent results and some have gone from attaining C's and D's to an A in the exam. I have also tutored children in primary school, helping them build on their reading and writing skills. I am currently completing my PGDE in order to become a qualified English teacher so I will throughout our work be able to put these skills into practice,

What locations do you tutor in?

North Lanarkshire South Lanarkshire Glasgow East

What is your personal message to students?

I am keen to help you achieve in English whether it is your favourite or least favourite subject. I want to work with you to open up all of the possibilities of the subject and present it to you in new ways. I will tailor each lesson to suit your needs and aim to make you as comfortable as possible as we work together

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes- Disclosure Certificate
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, Glasgow East
Online tutor: I tutor via Microsoft Teams
Subjects: English Primary, S1-S3, National 5, Higher