Alice C

back to the directory
£ 15.00-15.00 p/h

Hi! My name is Alice, and I'm a recent graduate of Cardiff University, where I achieved a First Class Honours in English Literature and History. I achieved 2 A*s and 1 A in my A-Levels, in the subjects English, History, and Politics. I also achieved 8 A*s and 2 As in my GCSEs, and feel comfortable tutoring up to this qualification in most subjects. I have tutoring experience through my school, where I helped Year 11 students write their English Language coursework. I also tutored my neighbour for the 11+, which she passed. I am easy-going, flexible, and patient, and will put my all into helping you, or your child, achieve the grade that you deserve. Just drop me a message, and we can organise something that works for you!

How would you describe your teaching style?

I believe I excel in 1-to-1 teaching, and am very adaptable in my methods. Some children learn by doing, some by listening, some by watching, and I am happy to try any means to ensure that each child feels like they are learning in the best possible environment. I am also highly organised, and will be well-prepared for any tutoring session, setting up plans and objectives before each session. I have experience working in a juvenile custodial centre which has made me incredibly patient, and has taught me how to be kind and helpful to children, regardless of their background. I believe this makes me an excellent tutor, as I will try my hardest to do a good job and get you, or your child, to achieve the grades they deserve, regardless of any obstacles.

What qualifications do you have?

Degree - English Literature and History, Cardiff University, First Class Honours A-Levels - English, A*, History, A*, Politics, A, Kings High School for Girls GCSEs - Maths, A*, Biology, A*, Chemistry, A*, Physics, A*, English Literature, A, English Language, A*, French, A*, History, A*, Food Technology, A, Latin, A*, Kings High School for Girls

Tell us about your experience...

I tutored Year 11 pupils at my school, helping them to write their English Language coursework, and to prepare them for their English and History GCSE exams. The two girls I tutored both passed their GCSEs. I also tutored my neighbour for her 11+ and her entrance exam to Kings High School, which she passed. Furthermore, I was a student mentor at University for first year students, helping them with their essay writing techniques. Finally, I currently work in a juvenile correctional facility, working with children convicted of crimes. I help them in their day-to-day lives, including with their education work, such as helping with their reading and writing.

What locations do you tutor in?

I will tutor anywhere in the Warwickshire area, and will also happily tutor via Skype or Zoom, if that's preferred.

What is your personal message to students?

Hi! Just want to say that I look forward to working with you, and I promise that if you choose me as a tutor then I will make every session as fun and stress-free as possible. You've already taken the right step in asking for help, and I ensure that I will work as hard as possible to make sure you get the grade you deserve. If you have any questions at all, I am here to help.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes - a DBS check for working with children
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Anywhere in Warwickshire
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and Zoom, or can do assessments virtually, without meeting needed.
Subjects: 11 Plus
  English Degree
  English as a foreign language Degree
  History Degree
  Maths GCSE
  Primary Education
  Government and Politics A-Level