Alastair K

back to the directory
£ 25.00-40.00 p/h

I've been teaching at a few different primary schools in Surrey - both state and independent - for 7 years. I'm currently a Year 5 teacher at a primary school in the Guildford area, and as such I have up-to-date knowledge of the Primary National Curriculum. I have a good experience of common misconceptions and potential gaps in understanding, and know how to support children to close gaps ahead of the KS2 SATs. As I’m aware of the pressures placed on children, I’m looking to help them not only with their subject knowledge but their confidence, enabling them to feel successful and consequently be ‘secondary ready’.

How would you describe your teaching style?

Child-led and practical where relevant, building a relationship where the tutee can feel comfortable enough to ensure maximum progress.

What qualifications do you have?

After getting 9 GCSEs and 3 A-Levels, I gained a 2:1 BA in Primary Education.

Tell us about your experience...

I've been teaching in Surrey at both state and independent primary schools for 7 years, teaching all subjects in the Primary National Curriculum across the KS2 years.

What locations do you tutor in?

In the Guildford area - up to around 5 miles.

What is your personal message to students?

I enjoy helping children achieve their potential, so with a willingness to learn progress can be made.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes - DBS
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Guildford and surrounding 5 miles
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths SATs
  English SATs
  Science SATs
  French SATs
  Primary Education SATs