Find a Tutor

Maths Tutors in Sheffield and Maths Tutoring in Sheffield


Nerijus S

Primary, GCSE, A-Level, Undergraduate, Admissions Maths tutor in Sheffield, York and Humberside

£20.00-40.00Academic tutor

I am a seasoned private mathematics tutor since 2016, and a recent Master of Mathematics (MMath) graduate from Loughborough University holding a strong first-class honours degree. In October 2020, I am starting my PhD in Applied Mathematics for which I have secured a 4-year scholarship. Over the years, I have tutored for 400+ hours including in-school experience working with GCSE students. Every student whom I had taught privately has went on to achieve A/A* grade in their Maths GCSE or A-Level qualification. Undergraduate students who I have taught have seen a rise in their average grade, often reaching a high 2:1 / 1st. I am based in Sheffield therefore in-person tuition is available only if you live within a 15 mile radius of Sheffield. However, I can tutor anyone online and this has been the more popular option. To ensure success, I procide weekly homework based on a topic we discuss. I provide key knowledge and facts which are fundamental in understanding difficult concepts. Please get in touch if you seek tuition in Maths. I provide a free 30-minute trial, and further discounts are also available when you book with me.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within a 15 mile radius of Sheffield
Online tutor: I tutor via Skype and/or Zoom
Subjects: Maths Primary, GCSE, A-Level, Undergraduate, Admissions
  11 Plus Primary
  Further Maths GCSE, A-Level, Admissions

Nadine A

Early Years - KS1 English tutor in Sheffield, North West

£30.00-38.00Academic tutor

I am a highly qualified Early Years teacher with 5 years teaching experience and a wealth of experience across KS1, teaching children who are learning English as a second language. I deliver fun, engaging and interactive lessons in helping children of a young age develop their phonics awareness, social and emotional skills, in addition to fine and gross motor skills. I am available to tutor online and in person. PGCE/Enhanced DBD Certificate.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes I have an updated DBD check
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Sheffield/Greater Manchester/Cheshire
Online tutor: Zoom
Subjects: English Early Years - KS1
  Maths Early Years
  English as a foreign language Early Years - KS2

Alex G

A Level, AS Level, Maths tutor in Sheffield City Centre

£10.00-20.00Academic tutor

Hello! My name is Alex and I am a third year engineering student at the university of Sheffield who graduated college with A*A*AA in mathematics, physics, further maths and computing respectively, scoring above 90% in all core maths modules. Being someone who studies best in a group, I believe that seeking help with your studies can be one of the best way to improve your understanding and progress. During our first session we will discuss what you are hoping to gain from tutoring and the ways I can help, whether it be direct teaching, exam technique, homework help, or even just a different perspective on what you learn! From there I can begin to help in whatever suits you best. mPlease feel free to contact me with any questions you may have.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: up to 10 miles
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths A/AS Level
  Further Maths A/AS Level

Joseph S

GCSE Maths, A level Maths tutor in Penistone, Sheffield, York and Humberside

£20.00-30.00Academic tutor

I am a fully qualified maths teacher with a GCSE, an A-level and a degree in Mathematics. I am qualified to teach up to A-level within schools :) I can work flexibly online to support the needs of your study. The lower the level you are studying, the cheaper the tutoring!

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I can tutor via Skype, Zoom
Subjects: Maths GCSE
  Maths A level

Alice F

Primary English tutor in Sheffield, York and Humberside

£20.00-35.00Academic tutor

I have fifteen years experience as a primary teacher in both the state and independent sectors. My last job was as a specialist reading teacher at a highly regarded independent school, where I worked for 6 years before recently relocating to Sheffield. I'm an experienced English teacher and can help with comprehension skills; vocabulary building; all aspects of writing and preparation for school entrance exams. Having worked in publishing before becoming a teacher, I have an excellent knowledge of children's books and enjoy helping reluctant readers find books they enjoy. As a former class teacher, I am also a patient and supportive maths teacher and can help your child with mathematical fluency; problem solving and reasoning.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: S11, S10, S7,
Online tutor: No
Subjects: English Primary
  Maths Primary
  Primary Education

Charlotte G

KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level English, Maths, Welsh, Science, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Psychology tutor offering tuition in Mosborough, Sheffield, York and Humberside

£25.00-30.00Academic tutor

Hi, my name is Charlotte and I specialise in Biology and Physics at A-level . I am qualified to teach ALL SCIENCES at KS3 and GCSE level and have 5 years experience. I also tutor English at all levels . I like to make my sessions fun and relaxed as I've found that this atmosphere produces the best result. To Boost learning and focus revision please get in touch. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Regards, Charlotte

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Sheffield chesterfield
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Physics KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level
  Biology KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level
  Chemistry KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level
  English KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level
  Welsh KS3, GCSE
  Maths KS2, KS3, GCSE, A Level, AS Level
  Pyschology GCSE, A Level, AS Level

Lawrence B

KS3 and GCSE English tutor in Sheffield,, York and Humberside

£40.00-0.00Academic tutor

With over a decade working in education and private tuition, I have extensive experience in preparing students for National exams. Academically, I focus on English Language and Literature, French and Spanish. I also have a wealth of experience in successfully preparing students for the Foundation Tier Maths exam. At GCSE and IGCSE level I have experience teaching all of the major exam boards including AQA, Pearson Edexcel, WJEC, CIE and OCR. There isn't a great deal of variation between the different boards in terms of content as GCSE level is largely standardised. Nevertheless it does help to be familiar with the variation in the emphasis of a particular syllabus and the format of the exam paper. I hold a BA and MA in Modern Languages from the University of Oxford. My degree studies were in language and literature, with a particular emphasis on reading widely and engaging with the progress of European thought from the Renaissance to present day. I believe this deep background in literature and language has been invaluable in my teaching practice. Professionally, I have work with many of the most reputable tuition agencies in the UK and overseas, specifically the Profs (UK), Modelex (Monaco) and Living Learning English (UK). All three are industry-leading, award-winning agencies with rigorous selection criteria for their academic tutors and the highest standards of integrity and professionalism. In addition to working with these agencies, as an individual tutor I'm a full-member of the National Tutors' Association, the national body upholding standards of professionalism and ethics within the UK Tuition industry.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: No
Online tutor: I tutor via Zoom or Skype. I use a shared online whiteboard.
Subjects: English KS3 and GCSE
  English as a foreign language IELTS
  Maths KS3 and GCSE
  Spanish GCSE and A level
  French GCSE and A level

Lewis B

A-level Maths tutor in Sheffield, York and Humberside

£15.00-0.00Academic tutor

I am based around Sheffield city centre for face-to-face tutoring, however I am also happy to provide online tutoring via Zoom or Skype (or something similar). Although I am new to tutoring, I have been volunteering for the Coronavirus Tutoring Initiative (CTI), which aims to support students who are unable to access private tutoring; I currently tutor five A-level students via email. My lessons are always based around the needs of each individual student - everyone has different strengths and weaknesses in mathematics, so I tailor my tutoring around this. In general, I will ask what topics my students may be struggling with before each lesson; a typical lesson would then begin with me going through some of these, explaining concepts/ideas and methods to answer questions. As practice is so important in maths, I will typically spend around half of the lesson going through practice questions with students to ensure they are comfortable with any questions thrown at them, however this can easily be altered depending on the needs of the student. My related academic qualifications include: - A* in A-level Mathematics - A in AS-level Further Mathematics - 9 in GCSE Mathematics - A in GCSE Statistics - A in GCSE Physics

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Within a 2 mile radius of Sheffield city centre
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Maths A-level

Paul J

AS Level Chemistry tutor in Sheffield, York and Humberside

£10.00-15.00Academic tutor

I prioritise making sure you feel comfortable and confident being tutored, so I often shall ask if you have any questions and wholey encourage you to step in if you wish to. I believe encouragement is key to learning, as being overcritical impedes a students' motivation. I ensure studying remains an enjoyable experience on MyTutor by using only constructive criticism, using multiple approaches, and ensuring tasks are never unbearably overwhelming.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: Yes
Home-based tutor: Yes
Travelling tutor: Sheffield
Online tutor:
Subjects: Chemistry AS Level
  Maths A Level
  History AS Level
  Physics AS Level

Roisin D

Maths, Statistics, Physics, Chemistry, Biology tutor offering tuition in Crookesmoor, Sheffield, York and Humberside

£10.00-25.00Academic tutor

I am currently a student at the University of Sheffield studying for my Economics degree. I am at present studying modules in mathematics and statistics so am very up to date with my knowledge of A-level maths. My past education of GCSE's are 6 A*s including Maths and all the sciences, two As and two Bs. I also completed three A-levels where I received ABB in chemistry,biology and maths. I have been part of numerous tutoring programmes during my school education where I have tutored students struggling with their science GCSE's.

CRB/Disclosure Certificate: No
Home-based tutor: No
Travelling tutor: Broomhill, Crookes
Online tutor: No
Subjects: Chemistry A-level, GCSE
  Biology A-level, GCSE
  Maths A-level, GCSE
  Physics GCSE
  Statistics A-level
If you’re looking for Maths tutors in Sheffield, then you’ve come to the right place. You can browse our list of Sheffield Maths tutors below and contact your chosen tutor directly using the contact form on their profile. Our tutors provide Maths tutoring in Sheffield over various different subjects, including Maths, Science and English and at various different levels, including GCSE and A-Level.